Watch out road, new driver here!

Hello there!

Just recently, I got my drivers license!! I spent 2 weeks with an instructor and we practiced on the road around the DMV so I would know the route. He scheduled an appointment for me on Saturday at 11:15 a.m.

The day of my driving test, he came to pick me up along with another girl, Diana who is also taking the test as well. I met her in our previous driving lesson practice. We practiced on the road for a bit until it was time for Diana’s test (Her’s was an hour earlier than mine). She came back out and she passed! Next it was my turn.

I went into the appointment line and the guy behind the desk was really friendly. As my thumb was scanning in the machine, he told me to show a smile, a frown, and a pouty face. Then he directed me to take my car around the building to the line. Let me just tell you, that line was LONG. I had enough time to run to the bathroom before my test started. I was the last one in line but it gave me some time to review everything I needed like the car parts. Diana hung out with me in the car while we waited.

Finally, it was my turn. I was nervous and my heart was beating fast. My examiner was a sweet lady. She made me feel relaxed. Funny thing was when she got into the car and told me to start, I had troubles turning the car on but luckily I got it. And we were off. We went around the routes and I think in total, it took about 10 minutes. Before I knew it, we were back at the DMV.

I parked and she asked me, “How do you think you did?”

I told her, “I think I did alright.”

She was still writing stuff on my paper and then drew a smiley face on my paper. Then, she handed it to me and thanked me for the safe ride. I checked my score and I only made 2 mistakes! My instructor came towards the car and asked how I did. I told him I only made 2 mistakes. We got out of the car and I was really happy. As she was leaving for her lunch break, I thanked her and told her to have a good day.

And that was my experience at the DMV. Unfortunately, I can’t get a car until 2 years because insurance is expensive 😦 So I’ll have to wait then.

Deuces

Leave a comment