College Life

College is right around the corner for me. It’s July 2015 and I have a month left of summer before I start school and heck I am nervous.

Getting accepted to schools was the most amazing feeling ever because you felt like you have achieved something. My senior year of high school. I applied to 8 schools but I only got accepted to 3. Two of the schools I got in were in a close radius to home while the third one was in Socal but it was not an academically good school. It was located in East L.A, a place that seemed unsafe for me to be in.

I was upset that I did not get into my dream school  and rejected to all the UC schools I applied to but it was probably because of my low test scores. I thought to myself if I had gotten into a better school, would my life been different? The school I would be attending is SJSU and since I live close by, I will be commuting to school rather than dorming. I dreamed of experiencing the college dorm life with a roommate but that isn’t happening.

I haven’t experience what life would be like at SJSU but I hope orientation next week would be an eye opener for me. I get to meet new people and see how college is. I’ve visited the campus twice (one with my sisters and another time with my dad) and I have to say despite the campus only being 194 acres, it’s still a pretty school. I know that the people on that campus are really friendly and nice. The pros of staying in the bay is I get to be home and not feel so homesick, food places everywhere around downtown SJ, getting to drive, being able to continue working at my job, cost less living off campus. The cons are I wouldn’t be having the full college life (such as dorming, roommate, etc), small campus.

SJSU was not the school I dreamed of going but I hope to make my freshman year memorable because as of right now, I should be happy I’m going to a 4 year school. I am going to rock my first year at SJSU.

Going to college is a huge transition to adult life and I know everyone else is on the same boat as me where we just want to meet new people and make friends.

To all my friends who are leaving for college in September to Socal, I hope you guys have an amazing first year there.

Deuces

2 thoughts on “College Life

  1. Hey! Great introduction! As 3 college students, all of whom are about to enter our sophomore years and ended up at schools that were not at the top of our lists, we just wanted to tell you that college will be great. You’ve probably heard this a million times, but college is all what you make of it and since it sounds like you have a positive attitude, we’re sure you’ll have an amazing experience! We can’t wait to read about your college adventures and would love it if you’d check out/follow our site about our different perspectives as college students and BFFs. Best of luck to you! – xoxo AIE
    https://thingsthatcomeinthrees.wordpress.com/about/

    Like

Leave a comment